Initial ELPAC Testing

  • What is the Initial ELPAC?
    • The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)
      is California’s assessment system that is used to determine the English
      language proficiency of students whose primary language is not English.
      The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language
      Development Standards and assesses four domains: Listening, Speaking,
      Reading, and Writing.
    • The Initial ELPAC is used to identify students as being either an English
      learner or fluent in English. It is administered only once during a student’s
      time in the California public school system, based on the results of the home
      language survey. 


  • Why is the Initial ELPAC given? 
    • The purpose of the Initial ELPAC is to determine the English proficiency of
      students entering California schools for the first time. Identifying students who
      need help learning in English is important so students get the extra help they
      need to do well in school while receiving instruction in all school subjects.


  • Who takes the Initial ELPAC? 
    • The Initial ELPAC is given to students in grades K–12 whose primary language is not English to determine their English language proficiency status. Students with disabilities who cannot take one or more domains of the ELPAC with allowed universal tools, designated supports, or accommodations, will take an alternate assessment(s), as noted in their individualized education program (IEP).