Alum Rock Union School District

Celebrating 90 years of excellence through Service, Perseverance, Love, Trust, & Equity!

Special Education Services

Welcome to Special Education!

The District's Special Education programs and services are designed to provide individualized instruction to meet the unique needs of eligible children. The Federal Law, called the Individuals with Disabilities in Education Act (IDEA), states that all eligible children, ages 3 to 22, with disabilities are entitled to receive a Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE). If you are concerned about your child, please contact your student's teacher, or principal, to learn more about what you can do, and what school resources are available. 

Special Education Department 

Phone: (408) 928-6950

Fax: (408) 928-6409


Anthony Colonna - Director, Special Education

(408) 928-6960

anthony.colonna@arusd.org 


LeAnne Depew - Administrative Assistant 

(408) 928-6959

leanne.depew@arusd.org 


Allison Anderson - Program Specialist

(408) 928-6962

allison.anderson@arusd.org 


Geinah Nierra - Program Specialist

(408) 928-6950

geinah.nierra@arusd.org


Nicole Wesson - Behavior Specialist

(408) 928-6964

nicole.wesson@arusd.org


Alyssia Cetinich - Behavior Specialist 

(408) 928-6966

alyssia.cetinich@arusd.org


Maimona Berta - Behavior Specialist 

(408) 928-8414

maimona.afzal@arusd.org


Joyce Aguilar - Office Assistant III

(408) 928-6958 

joyce.aguilar@arusd.org 


Phillip Perez - Office Assistant III

(408) 928-6954

phillip.perez@arusd.org 


Judy Qin - Special Education Nurse

(408) 928-8476

judy.qin@arusd.org 


 

Click to access the above flyer in Spanish

 

Special Education School Board Presentation: November 18, 2021

First page of the PDF file: SpecialEducationBoardOverview

If you have a question regarding your student's behavior or need some suggestions, please contact our district behavior specialists at  behavior.specialist@arusd.org

 

Special Education Questions:

(408) 928-6950

Transportation Questions:

(408) 928-6975

First page of the PDF file: ChildFind3-foldBrochure-English1
First page of the PDF file: ChildFind3-foldBrochure-Spanish1
First page of the PDF file: ChildFind3-foldBrochure-Vietnamese1